Don’t Grieve For Me

When my life is done and my crown is won,
And one who was once blind can see;
When my time is up and I empty my cup,
Don’t anyone grieve for me.

If my days have all passed and I’ve breathed my last,
If from this clay house I’m set free;
Just remember today is a glorious day,
No need to grieve for me!

As you say “goodbye,” it is not I!
I think you’ll have to agree.
I’ve moved along; I’m finally home,
Your grieving just can’t be for me!

And as you lower me down back into the ground,
Don’t imagine I’m looking to flee.
I’m singing a song, at the foot of the Throne,
Oh, how could you grieve for me?!

My life is not lost, for Christ paid the cost,
His blood is my sure guarantee.
When I draw my last breath and lay down in death,
There’ll be no more grieving in me.

So give Him your sin, and let Him come in,
He’ll forgive you and set your soul free.
Then open your eyes and don’t be surprised,
That you no longer are grieving for me.

Ken Blackwood
April 6, 2008

One thought on “Don’t Grieve For Me

  1. Promising Poets Parking Lot

    lovely word play..
    well done.

    Glad to discover your blog.
    love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

